Art of the Landscape

This summer I am taking an art course titled “Art of the Landscape.” We have been taking four days a week to visit a landscape site–parks, private property, and ponds. So far we have created art from Washburn’s campus, Gage Park, Lakewood Park, and Truckhendge. A few of the locataions have been shared with other visitors, while some have been more secluded. No matter what, however, we have had to battle the elements–rain, bugs, and the sun. It can be challenging to draw a landscape with bees buzzing by your ear, the sun beating down on your skin, and sweat dripping in your eyes–not to mention running in from a down pour of rain.

But it’s been a blast! It is completely different to be in nature creating art rather than in a studio. I have found my drawings to be much more loose and relaxed since I am doing them on site. I have been doing primarily charcoal drawing for this class, but I always take my camera along and take some time to shoot photos as well. Below are a few of the pieces I have been working on over the past few weeks from the various locations.

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

These are some photos that show off the wonders of Truckhendge — beautiful skies, quirky features, and colorful bottles to name a select few. As I walked around the area there were things to see all around me…overwhelming really.

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

One Comment on “Art of the Landscape”

  1. adamscorner says:

    Thank you for sharing. I really like your drawing style. 🙂


Leave a Reply

