Immediate Surroundings

Immediate Surroundings
While contemplating “what’s wrong with the world?” I couldn’t help but to think about the media saturated culture in which I live. All around me there are images telling me what to think, how to feel, and what to do with my body. However, the more I started looking at things, the more I became confused as to what the media is truly telling me. Within this documentary, I am placing text with visual components. I have extracted the text from its place in a magazine, and paired it with a photograph of advertisements, billboards, food menus, and storefronts to create a dialogue. Often it is as if one source is telling me to behave in one way, and then another source is completely contradicting the same idea. Even more so, however, I am choosing text and imagery that will question the common scenes and phrases used in this culture.

Below are five of the twenty images from this series: Immediate Surroundings.

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Deedra Baker 2010

Leave a Reply

