Introspection: BFA Senior Exhibition

Introspection

Art is a powerful means of self-expression. I have always felt a strong connection with photography in its ability to serve as a vehicle for visual communication. I am interested in employing self-portraiture as a device to explore my own physicality and psychology. Through my art I intend to examine myself, women’s roles, and how others view women and their position in society. I continually question what it means to be a female in today’s society, and I address similar issues as they relate to my own personal existence. I strive to create work that challenges the boundaries of myself as the artist, as well as the viewer, whether that is because of visual or psychological reasons.

I documented my BFA senior exhibition, Introspection, and I am finally posting select images from the show. I had a great time creating the work for this exhibit.

Deedra Baker 2011

Leave a Reply

